The Skyrim Sweet Roll

Idle hands are the devil’s playthings, they say, so when I get too bored I turn to one of my many hobbies to keep me occupied. This time, I combined two of them: video games and baking. Of course, why not make it to look like food from the Elder Scrolls: Skyrim.

Behold the Skyrim Sweet Roll!

I loosely based my version on Bethesda’s role-playing masterpiece as well as the Geeky Chef version in which she had the genius idea of baking it in a pyrex measuring cup to get the distinctive shape without having to find some weird specialty cake pan, so kudos to her. Unfortunately I tend to customize things as I go so I don’t have my exact measurements, but I can tell you I increased the milk by quite a bit.

So if you try to make these, do it as it says, and then add milk bit by bit until you get a runny mixture if you want to do it my way. I also increased the cinnamon, because I love cinnamon, and I added cloves for some more zing.

My icing was pretty runny, too, so you could definitely decrease the milk in the icing recipe if you want it a little fluffier and prettier. But when it’s thin it soaks into the cake, which is delicious, so really either way is good.

I recommend enjoying these with a friend, because they’re very dense and very filling. Or bring them to a party, and you’ll be the toast of it!

About Kirsten Grove-White:

Kirsten is studying biology at university currently, but has studied music extensively for most of her life. She has won awards in musicology/music history and performance in both piano and voice. She was also a choral scholar for four years, studying and performing primarily medieval church music. She was introduced to video games as a little girl by her grandfather (weird, right?) and has fought her older sister for controller time ever since. She has a particular passion for video game music, naturally, and is vocal in the fact that she believes it’s some of the best modern music out there and is grossly underrated.

Posted on May 31, 2012, in Nerd Explosion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

